Tabata Workout #1

Posted by on Dec 9, 2010 in Fitness | 1 comment

Tabata Squats

If you have heard about Tabata workouts, and wanted to check it out, try this one out.

In case you have not heard of Tabata workouts, Tabata is a type of high-intensity interval training that was originally developed for Japan’s Olympic speed-skating team. A single Tabata set consists of eight 20 second intervals of INTENSE activity, separated by 10 second rest-breaks. A complete Tabata workout, as I interpret it, is made up of four different exercises, focusing on different parts of the body.

(Warning, Tabata is NOT for the faint of heart. If you are not interested in experiencing serious pain the next day, start out with only one or two repetitions of each exercise, and work up to the full eight. Really. Even if you are already very active.)

Exercise 1 – Squats

Exercise 2 – Stability Ball Situps

Exercise 3 – Tricep extensions

Exercise 4 – Burpees

Note: it is the intention that you manage roughly the same number of repetitions during each of the eight sets of each exercise. If you find that you do 10 burpees on your first repetition, but only 4 on your final repetition, work on your pacing next time.

Continue on to the next page for another 20 minute Tabata workout that you can use to alternate workouts.

Warning: consult with your medical practitioner before starting any new exercise program.

One Comment

  1. This is great! I’ve been wanting my kids to be a little more active, so today I tried these out with my 12 year old son (only three sets of each exercise). We were both gasping by the end of it all, and definitely knew we’d done some work!

Leave a Reply to Lisa Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *